Hawaii Fact 21 of 50: Hawaii’s Northwestern and Southeastern Islands

When we think of Hawaii, we generally think of the eight major islands stretching from the Big Island to Kauai. So, it may come as a surprise that there are dozens more islands and atolls of Hawaii dotted northwest of Kauai.

The eight major islands from Kauai to the Big Island are known as the Southeastern Windward Islands which span across 350 miles (approximately).  Beyond Kauai, there are many smaller, uninhabited islands, called the Northwestern Leeward Islands, which stretch across more than 800 miles on the Pacific Ocean.


Here’s a satellite view of both the Northwestern and Southeastern Islands of Hawaii.



About Sheila Beal

Sheila Beal is the founder and editor of Go Visit Hawaii. You can connect with Sheila Beal on Twitter, Go Visit Hawaii on Facebook, or Sheila Beal on Google+.

One comment

  1. Some excellent information there! One of my cousins is currently in Hawaii. Your post makde me want to visit even more 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Please do not use keywords in your name. Please keep your comment on the topic of the article as we will not approve or address off-topic comments. Required fields are marked *


Scroll To Top